Amma loves you Ali Farzan

Aside

The toothbrush, the soap, and the bath robe

I am sorry but today I will tease you. You were not that perfect. Toothbrush was your weak point. You were not used to brush well. It was my fault. I made it a habit to brush your teeth myself. It was like I made myself offer each spoon of meal to you. When you were going to school I had to take you to the washroom. I had to stand outside while you were in as you were used to get scared if left alone. The kitchen was far and if i had gone there while you were in the washroom you got annoyed. I respected your fear. If I had to stand then why not help you brush your teeth and wash your face. So it was you-the prince- and amma the service provider. It went well till we left karachi. Here you were used to brush you teeth while I was in the kitchen downstairs. I know you didnt like doing it but you never asked my support. You adjusted to the change.

After reaching Memphis for some days you used the tooth brush you got in the plane. You didn’t like any drop of water to fall on your brush and this bathroom is small. So you decided to keep your brush in the cabinet outside the washroom. You were particular about these things. Your brush should not be wet, the soap should not be wet and so should your towel.

For the last couple of years our bathroom soap was of your choice. You didn’t like LUX and had many arguments against it. You advocated for bodyguard. I knew that the animated commercial was behind the choice but respected your statement that it does not get dissolved in water as compare to other soaps. Which soap I should choose Ali Farzan now.

You loved the new bath robe. Its material was soft and the dark blue color looked so good on you. I loved the previous bath poncho. You used it for so many years. It had the shape of fish on it and you looked so lovely in it. You wanted the robe to be hanged in such a way in the washroom that it cannot get wet. We were used to put it in the dressing room. I can imagine you coming out from the dressing room shouting why the door of the room is open. I miss the complaint Ali Farzan.

4 responses

  1. Isbah l am imagining Ali Farrzan coming out of the wash room wearing the old bath robe .How well the robe suited him..He was used to it from the very begening.l recall him taking a bath. He loved sitting in the tub for hours playing with water with a small toy in hand He liked sitting in hot water in winters and we never objected .Occasionally he was scared of going to the wash room alone and always insisted to me or you to stand in the dressing to wait .while changing the clothes we had to sit in room no matter how busy we were otherwise refused to go in the room alone .He had no secrecy with me and felt comfortable with me as with you
    Ali Farzan now l am worried how you are living without us and doing all your routine daily work alone Ali l and specilly Isbah need your company.

    Like

    March 11, 2014 at 6:01 am

  2. I rember when you went for your monthly grocery I used to put thing of his own choice in the trolley some snacks a tin of pine apple noodles shampoo and a good Soap If some times I objected you let him take the things of his own choice Isbah you Inculcated so much confidence in him that he never had any difficulty in facing small problems Is bah you were
    a perfect mother

    Like

    March 11, 2014 at 6:35 am

    • I really liked his confidence in choosing those things. He had his own agenda while going for grocery shopping. He had his own list of things to buy and the brands to choose. And he always convinced for his choice of brand. My intelligent son.

      Like

      March 12, 2014 at 6:42 am

  3. Read like this
    Ali put things of his own choice in the trolly

    Like

    March 11, 2014 at 6:38 am

Leave a Reply

