Amma loves you Ali Farzan

One hand around the ear and one thumb in the mouth

Image

 

So you are ready to sleep-one hand around the ear and the thumb in the mouth. This was a temporary phase and you were out of this habit in about one year. After your birth i was scared of loosing you. One day I shouted at night s thought may be you were not breathing smoothly. I started putting you on myself while sleeping. Someone told me that children sleep easily as they can hear the heartbeat of their mother. It continued for  at least the first year of your life. 

Just look at your red palm. You were full of life Ali Farzan. You were short and slim in the first two years. But you were too active to negate any worries about your health. You made up for the slim frame in later years. You were growing rapidly in the last few months. I started looking at your biceps which were growing and reflecting the emerging strength. I saw them as if I was recording my son’s growth from a small boy to a big boy. I thought I will tell you later how I noticed your shift to adolescence. Your clothes were getting small as you had to leave them behind you.

Look at the raised brow. And I know why-because you saw Yasir taking the picture. The raise of brow was a sign of question. You dont know but you started speaking so late-at two years of age. Before that you took use of such expressions to convey the message. You were used to tell the whole story by moving hands, changing expressions and changing the tone of sounds of ‘aaan’. People asked me to take you to the therapist. I knew there was no physical hindrance in you to start speaking. It was all our fault. We tried successfully to transcribe all the stories you told and messages you gave using your expressions, sounds and gestures. 

Its a different time in your life we are talking today. As nani said you loved listening to the stories of your childhood. I noticed interest reflected in your eyes about how you were in young age. I didnt tell you many but had many to tell you in later part of life. I love you Ali Farzan-even more than I loved when we were living together.

4 responses

  1. Ali Farzan was born in the Agha khan hospital .It must be5th or 6th of Dec when l went to the hospitals nursery to watch Ali .There l saw the Doc checking a child’s responses. I wondered that child was so small and thin but responding greatly to the Doc.After wards came to know that was Ali .Ali was born premature so when brought home me and Isbah were scared of how we will handle him first week was very tough. Ali had swallowing problems.he can t drink milk properly later he overcome these problems .lsbah cared for him day and night .we became used to of these problems but remained always in emergency till he was two months old .God saved him at that time but called him back when we were so used to him and can’t tolerate his absence.

    Liked by 1 person

    March 13, 2014 at 10:30 am

    • While cooking for fatiha I remember many meals I was used to make for him. May God not taken me this day

      Like

      March 13, 2014 at 4:21 pm

  2. Isbah says right Ali started speaking late and we were responsible for that Ali had to make no effort for demanding or explaining any thing verbally we knew all his problems through his gestures .we were extremly excited about any new thing he learned or showed physically and every one trained him.we became happy when he made sml sounds .The first big and clear word he uttered was on Am as marriage when relatives from Pindi came As he loved Amna so was attached to
    Mona Khizi and Samia .One morning he shouted Mona Kuala. clearly.And we were all filled with joy .so this is how Ali began to speak.

    Liked by 1 person

    March 13, 2014 at 11:00 am

  3. I remember his gestures to tell a whole story, how someone came and gave him something, someone fell cried and went away. All he told by making sounds and gestures

    Like

    March 13, 2014 at 4:26 pm

Leave a Reply

