Amma loves you Ali Farzan

At the pool

I am working on an assignment and thought of using a swimming pool observation as an example. This took me to all the fond memories of watching you in the pool. You loved water and that was the only reason that took you in the pool. I know you were not interested in swimming as a skill. For you it was a game and the most interesting part was jumping in water. You always made friends in the pool and most of the time it was a new boy you were talking to and playing with. You were so good at this. 

You wanted me to record the time of a round of the pool. I remember it was usually around one minute and 20 seconds. Your task was to bring it down from 20 and sometimes you managed. You usually took 10 rounds in one session. You did not like working on this task but your strick amma was used to tell you to do it. She didn’t like you just kicking water and making jumps. I sometimes missed your instruction to note the time and realized after listening to your question ‘amma kitni dair lagi is dafa’ and made up the time. You trusted me blindly Ali Farzan. Your amma was not that trustworthy. 

I still feel your sleek body bending to jump in the pool. Your wet hairs and a few drops of water sliding on the face, your small elegant tows taking the weight of the whole body. You loved using the slide. Every kid loved that slide and it was open only for half an hour so there was a long queue. I was used to glance you standing in the queue to make sure that you dont cheat as other kids tried to do. Let me admit I never found you playing a dirty trick to quickly get the turn to jump. You were and are such a jewel. I am proud of you.

You learned a few tricks and was used to display them only to the friends. Backward swimming, dolphin rounds and some others. Do you practice those now Ali Farzan. 

Image

4 responses

  1. Ali was so friendly with water it may be rain water sea water or water in a swimming pool .I remember the first time when l took him to the swimming pool meant for small children in Brisbane .He was too small so I myself took him in the pool .The people there also helped him.to go in the pool. After two or three years Ali learned swimming perfectly .The credit goes to his parents for giving him full guidance and support

    Like

    March 31, 2014 at 10:17 am

    • Ali Farzan was loved water. You remember him spending time in the bath tub. Water was one of his friends.

      Like

      April 1, 2014 at 2:05 am

  2. Ali Farzan I am missing that energetic full of life full of expressions Smile.I am scared of the thought that l will never see and feel that smile

    Like

    March 31, 2014 at 12:09 pm

    • I wish to find him coming back from school or from play. God has not only taken him back but most of the part of my soul.

      Like

      April 1, 2014 at 2:04 am

Leave a Reply

